Help Center

FAQs on Messages

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2019 07:21AM PDT

Elation messages, one of our most widely used features, have tremendous potential to enhance seamless communication within your practice. Messaging allows you to keep tabs and set reminders for yourself and your colleagues, ensuring quick and easy follow-up. Make sure nothing falls through the cracks by sending a message.

1. How do I send a message?
2. How do I keep track of my messages?
3. "Sign Off", "Acknowledge", "File to Chart" - What do each of these mean?
4. Can I send a message NOT affiliated with a specific patient?
5. Can I send a message to multiple office members at once?
- 5(i) 
What happens if I need to send a follow-up message?
- 5(ii) Adding in a provider after sending a staff group message 
- 5(iii) A provider adds themselves into a staff group message thread
6. A message seems to be "stuck" in my queue, how do I get rid of it?
7. Any other cool messaging features?


1. How do I send a message?

You can initiate a message from 3 different locations:

     a) your Practice Homepage:
 

     b) from the grey action bar at the top of a patient chart:
 

     c) from a Report or Visit Note (the Report/Note will be referenced in the Message to ensure accuracy!):
 


 

Once a message is initiated, you can then address and compose your message by completing the following fields:

  • Pt: Enter Patient name (this is automatically populated if you are initiating from a pt chart)
  • To: Select recipients from the dropdown menu - choose individuals or try adding a user group!
  • Body: Write your message

2. How do I keep track of my messages?

You can find all your messages (and other staff messages by changing the viewing option) within your "Office Messages" queue on your Practice Homepage. Any message on which you are listed as a recipient will show up in your queue.

3. "Sign Off", "Acknowledge", "File to Chart" - What does each of these mean?

There are 3 message prompts for users:

  • "Sign off" -- only providers have the ability to "Sign Off" on messages. If a msg is signed off it can still linger if not acknowledged by all other recipients.
  • "Acknowledge" -- after a msg is signed off, all recipients need to "acknowledge" the message in order to "close the loop".
  • "File to Chart" -- staff to staff communication, if a msg is filed then it will disappear from the practice home queues for other recipients, See screenshot

4. Can I send a message NOT affiliated with a specific patient?

No, messages must be affiliated with a patient chart. However, if you would like to send an intra-office message we suggest creating a new patient named something like "Office Messages", and send office announcements, reminders, etc from this chart.

5. Can I send a message to multiple office members?

Yes, you can send a message to any combination of individuals and/or user groups. For example, I may send a message to one provider and the whole MA team.


 

5(i) What happens if I need to send a follow-up message?

 

If you have written a group message and need to send a follow-up, it is important to be aware of the following workflow. 

When you send the follow-up message please ensure the “Keep as requiring action" button is checked off. If this has not been checked off, your follow up reply will remove the whole message thread from all the recipient's inboxes. Checking of "Keep as requiring action" will ensure the message thread remains in all the recipients inboxes. This is demonstrated in the screenshots below.
 

Original Message sent to a group of recipients:

Follow- up message added with "Keep as requiring action" button checked off:

Message thread remains in recipient's inboxes:

 

5(ii) Adding in a provider after sending a staff group message 

If you have sent a group message to staff and then need to add in a provider to the thread, please be aware of the following workflow. 

When you send a follow-up message and add in the provider, please ensure “Keep as requiring action” is checked off. If this is not checked off the message will now only appear in the provider's queue and will be removed from all of the staff recipients inboxes. Checking “Keep as requiring action” will ensure the message thread appears in both the staff group inboxes and the newly added provider’s inbox.

Original message sent to Staff Group



Follow-up message sent to add in a provider to the thread, ensuring "Keep as Requiring Action" is checked.


The message remains in the staff inboxes as well as the looped in providers inbox:

5(iii) A provider adds themselves into a staff group message thread

If a provider sees a staff group message in a patient’s chart and wants to add themselves into the message thread, the message will remain in the staff recipient inboxes even if the provider does not check off “keep as requiring action”. Note that this is unlike the previous example explained in 5c where the "keep as requiring action" button must be checked off.

Original message sent to staff group
 
The Provider adds themselves to the message thread (it is not necessary to check "Keep as requiring action"):

The message remains in all recipients inboxes:

6. A message seems to be "stuck" in my queue, how do I get rid of it?

At times, you may see a message that you have acknowledged and the provider has signed off lingering in your queue. This is because ALL recipients of a message must "acknowledge" the message for it to be filed into the patient chart.

Check with the other recipients to make sure they have acknowledged the message so that it may be filed away.

support@elationpassport.com
http://assets0.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete